“If you choose not to decide, you still have made a choice.”

 

 

Neil Peart penned this line in the song Freewill off Rush’s “Permanent Waves” album.  You know, the one right before “Moving Pictures.”  Old people, rejoice!  A prog rock reference!!  Anyway, here’s my point:  right now I have over 850 students signed up for our first Career Professionalism class.  Some because they want to.  Many because they have to.  By the Fall we’ll probably be pushing 1200.  I took a look at the breakdown by major and here’s what caught my eye…

 

Fifty students (almost 6%) in the class have a declared major of “Undecided.”  Eleven are sophomores, but five are seniors!

 

People, you are about to take a class that is designed to help you figure out what you want they want to do with the rest of your life.  Unfortunately you can’t even pick an item from a menu of six.  My suggestion is to take a moment, make a choice, and rectify this before you get to class lest you incur the wrath of my sarcasm.  Apply this to other choices in your life that you’ve chosen not to make.  Otherwise, the choice you HAVE made will be answered with…

 

 

Lonny

