At Welcome to the Majors, I threw out two “pop quizzes” to the 947 students in attendance to see if they could come up with answers on the fly.  Actually, I wish I was that intentional in what I was doing.  I actually just want to figure out how to meet more students and thought a raffle to buy them lunch would be a good idea.  This whole nine million students that I never get to see thing is odd to me.  I’m more of a fan of Dean Jarley’s “log-based” system of education.

Anyway, I asked two questions.  First, name two movies where the line “We don’t need no stinking badges!” was used.  Then I asked students to tell me why I’m Batman.  Odd questions.  Yes.  So what, I was making this up as I went along.

A while back I wrote a blog about how Google was replacing fact retention.  See, I come from a generation where nerds like me would sit around and actually recite lines from Airplane, Monty Python’s Quest for the Holy Grail, and Smokey & the Bandit to each other for laughs.  We pulled the lines out of our heads.  Now you just pull up the clip on your phone.  So speaking of that…

I whipped out my phone and Googled “We don’t need no stinking Badges.”  First link is Wikipedia.  Gives the three most popular results (Treasure of the Sierra Madre, Blazing Saddles, the Monkeys television show) and then seven more film references, three in games, five in books, two in music, and 12 more from TV.  Over 30 references to that line that first appeared in less truncated form in the 1927 novel, “The Treasure of the Sierra Madre.”

Then I Googled “Lonny Butcher Batman.”  Third link was the full text of Dean Jarley’s blog  where I shared my failure story.

In less than 2 minutes (I type slow with one finger on my phone; two fingers and one thumb if I’m on my computer) I had both answers.  For my first question, 27 students wrote the name of two movies on their card.  For the Batman question, I got 12 responses.  Not 12 correct responses.  Just 12.  This gives me fewer than 40 students who were enticed by the offer of lunch to try and answer silly trivia.

The others were either not enticed by the offer of lunch, or they didn’t know the answer.  The former is ok with me, the latter is not.  One of the things I want students to learn in the Career Professionalism classes is how to be resourceful.  Answers are not always in black and white.  Nor are they handed to you.  Sometimes you have to search on your own.  Whether it’s how to create a pivot table in Excel or properly install the soft top on your son’s Jeep, you can find the answer to almost anything if you are willing to look.  My dad just learned how to replace a hard drive in his laptop by watching a YouTube video.  When you go to work your boss won’t be giving you all the answers either.  Resourcefulness is not a preferred skill, it’s a prerequisite!

I will be buying lunch for Peter Certo and Tristan Sebring for being selected in their respective drawings.  Peter was randomly picked for his two movies, Tristan was the first to email me with the correct answer.  But as Dean Jarley said on Friday, it takes more than just wanting it to get to the one.  It takes action.  The students who responded all showed me that they were interested enough in what was going on to do something a little extra.  They showed me they are resourceful.

So I’ll do a little extra.  I can’t afford to buy everyone lunch, but I want to get to know you.  I’ll be reaching out to set up appointments with each of you.  If you like coffee we’ll do coffee.  Or we can just sit in the Atrium.  I want to hear about what you want to do, and how we in the College of Business can help make that happen.  I want to learn about your individual needs.  In other words, I want to become part of your network.  And then I want to see what I can do to help.

I look forward to meeting all of you!

Lonny

