How’s it going fellow Knights? My name is Kyle Wuensch, and I am currently a General Business major here at the College of Business. As the son of two parents who have owned and operated a recruiting firm since as far back as I can remember, I have been exposed to experiences and scenarios that many may not have yet. At the age of 19, I took a semester off from pursuing my AA to job shadow as a recruiter at my parent’s office. During this time I was fortunate enough to work on several positions for different Multi-Billion Dollar corporations, travel to their various manufacturing facilities and offices, and meet with some of the “C”-Level executives that run these massive companies. Also during my endeavors, I got to utilize tools such as LinkedIn, Monster, and Ladders to look for potential candidates; all while receiving extensive training on what is and is not a good resume. These experiences really opened my eyes as to what it takes to be an A+ player in Corporate America once college is over. Today as a peer, I would like to share with you all, some of the knowledge I’ve gained through my experiences.

First things first, and this is probably one of the most important things I learned during my 5 month journey as a recruiter; NO COLLEGE DEGREE, NO JOB! Obviously there are some exceptions to this rule, as with most rules in life. However generally speaking, future employers will not care about any excuse you can come up with as to why you didn’t finish out your college career. The job market nowadays is far too competitive. So for any of you thinking you might not make it to see your diploma, think again. As a recruiter I would time and time again throw potential candidates resumes in the trash due to lack of educational degrees. Having your college degree shows potential employers you are capable of completing a goal. So obviously speaking, only having partially completed your degree is going to show future employers you were unable to complete that goal. Now think about it, who wants to hire somebody that can’t complete their goals? Nobody.

Now while I’m sure you’ve heard this over and over again, and I promise you will surely here it over and over again some more after this; partake in extracurriculars! Simply getting your degree is definitely not enough to make you be “The One” to a future employer. Even though my life as a recruiter was short lived, I can tell you straight up, your future employer is going to want to see that you have previous experience that applies to the job you are aiming for. It doesn’t matter where this experience comes from. Whether its volunteering for a non-profit, interning, job-shadowing, ANYTHING! This experience is what will set you apart from the thousands of others out there with the same degree as you.

Additionally, another major point to be made is maintaining a steady career pace and avoiding job-hopping. Nothing raises more red flags to a future employer than when you have had 4 different jobs with 4 different companies over a two year span listed on your resume. Often times as a recruiter I would have to ask potential candidates what happened with their previous employer and why they parted ways with each company they worked for. Let me tell you though, not all people leave a company because poor performance. For example, somebody explained a scenario where they had to leave a company after 2 months because the people were acting unethically and unwilling to change. So my best advice is think rationally. If you are able to clearly explain to a future employer as to why you parted ways with a company, then by all means do what is best for your career. However, do not come up with excuses such as; “they said I didn’t fit well for the position so they let me go”, “Their processes/procedures didn’t work for me”, “layoffs”, etc. That just isn’t going to cut it in most cases.

Another big issue that occurred more frequently than it should have, was people lying about credentials on their resume. This alone is probably the best way not to get hired by a company. One story I have is of a man, who for our purposes we will call John Doe. John was the prime candidate for the environmental engineering position we were working on. He had all the right experience, background, so on and so forth. However when the time came to verify John’s education, the college he had listed was nowhere to be found. Initially John claimed that the college was very small and had shut down, which is why his transcripts were unrecoverable. At this point in time, the employer and me as a recruiter began to get suspicious of John. Through time and questioning we come to find out that John’s degree was a fake. And even though John had all the right past job experience, he was turned away from the position due to being untrustworthy. So clearly, as we see here, you don’t ever want to lie to a future employer. Chances are they WILL find out.

These are just some of the more important things that came to mind when reflecting on the opportunity I was given, and looking back on my entire life being raised by two recruiters. A couple other points I would like to hit on before closing out are as follows:

  • Try and keep your resume to one page long if possible. Nobody wants to read through a packet.
  • Make sure all your important information is on your resume. Whether it’s a certification, past job experience, or anything else that is relevant to the job you are applying for.
  • When applying for a job, and especially when being recruited, you are interviewing the company just as much as they are interviewing you!
  • Always be professional and courteous of others. Nobody wants to work with an egocentric person that has an arrogant attitude.

I hope this information can be of help to you all on your future endeavors, and thanks for taking the time to read!

KyleWuensch

-Kyle-

