I wanted to let you know of our recent search that you assisted me with… we did get a few candidates from UCF, indeed, our top choice was a recent graduate… unfortunately, we decided not to offer him the position due to factors unrelated to his skill set (which was great – he scored the highest on the aptitude portion of our interview) What he lacked was good “interviewing skills”… For example, he arrived late to both interviews – and although he did call, he claimed “traffic” was to blame and that GPS gave him the wrong turns.  Also, he came unprepared, no pen, paper, etc. and was not appropriately dressed for an interview (no, I’m not referring to suit and tie, just did not create a good impression with his dress) I mention these examples as a former HR Recruiter… I know UCF offers these resources on how to interview… it saddens me that so many students do not take advantage of this resource… let this be a cautionary tale for others!

Email from HR contact at a major Orlando-area Real Estate company

What are my options if I don’t want to take GEB 3003?

Email from a prospective College of Business student

Funny, we received both of these emails on the same day. Coincidence? I think not. I’d like to spend time telling you, gentle reader, why our Career Professionalism classes are important and now required for all incoming UCF College of Business students. However, I think these two emails do it just fine.

As they say in Honors classes, the supplemental reading can be found at: https://careerpros.wordpress.com/2014/07/03/super-sizing-whoppers-and-private-benjamin/

Have a great weekend!

Lonny

