Anyone who reads this blog with any regularity knows that I attribute a lot of what I know to having a great role model as a father.  My Dad is awesome.  Well, so is Brandon’s! – Lonny

BrandonKey

Growing up, I wanted to be a Veterinarian, an Astronaut, and a Fire Fighter just like the majority of all kids. What sparked our interest back then rarely sticks with us until adulthood even though I would have sworn on everything that I would become a Vet back when I was 6. Things happen in our lives that lead us on different paths.  Experiences happen to us that shape the way we think or who we become.

Until very recently, I had no idea what I wanted to do even though I graduate in December. With one semester left, I was struggling to find something I wanted to do for the rest of my life. After all, we go through high school and the first couple years of college under the pressure of deciding something that will impact literally every aspect of our lives and yet we are barely only twenty-something years old.

Recently I decided to narrow my search and stop looking at jobs that were too far “out there” and look a little closer to home. My dad has one of the coolest jobs of anyone I know. He works for the world’s largest chemical company representing products that keep golf courses nice and healthy so people can enjoy them. While that may not sound like your cup of tea, let me go into more detail. He is in sales and marketing and works from home. While he works very hard at his job, he also chooses his hours; something most people want. A lot of his business is taking clients out to lunches and dinners to get to know them better and build relationships with them so that he can tailor his products with their needs. He has an expense account so nothing comes out of his pocket as well as a company car the he chooses which is freaking awesome! So what I am getting at is that this is what I would like to do for the rest of my life.  I see what he does and I know how it works and I know exactly what comes with the job.

My main purpose for writing this is to say that even if you have no idea what you would like to do accept that you will eventually know, take a step back, and take a closer look at things around you.  Find something that sounds truly fun and interesting to you. I didn’t know until a couple months ago and it all worked out for me. I was nervous that I was all alone in the fact that I had no clue about my future. But I want everyone to know that a lot of people are in this boat and you will eventually figure it out one way or another! Good luck!

Brandon Key

Management Student, UCF College of Business

