Heather has taken her lessons in networking to heart.  Not only is everything she did eligible for Career To-DO List points, but she may have positioned herself for a great job in the future!  Excellent choice, Heather!!

 

No, I’m not in California dreaming about anything so I’ll leave that to Adele but I am here to tell you about how you can go from a nobody to a somebody in your career. Let me introduce myself. I am currently an employee for Publix and have been for the last 9 years. I now work full-time, thanks to a recent promotion, and enrolled as a full-time student working towards my Bachelor’s in Business Management. One of the classes I am taking is GEB 4223 and with the help of these consecutive 1 hour classes, I have discovered what I want to pursue career wise and how I am going to accomplish that.

One of the biggest sayings in Business we constantly hear is to, “Network, network, network!” I think we’ve all been there where we’ve rolled our eyes and let that go in one ear and out the other, but let me be the one to tell you that our professors aren’t just saying it to hear themselves talk. If you’re an extrovert like me, you’re probably thinking this is something easy to do and just another conversation where we talk about ourselves and butter people up to like us. WRONG. I know from experience by having a conversation with my Manager at Publix in which this turned into an interview with my District Manager. Not many people intimidate me, but when your future is on the line, you start to shake in your boots in a bit.

I remember in one of my previous classes where my professor explained that without telling people what you want to do in your career, they will never know and thus resulting you becoming stagnant in your job or missing opportunities. I took this to heart and one day sat my manager down and told her my plans. I wanted to be transferred to this certain department, become promoted to fulltime, and eventually taking the management tests to become an Assistant Department Manager and eventually the Department Manager. She took me serious and said she will do all she can to help me.

Another topic I remember from class was how people love to talk about themselves. They tend to open up more and feel flattered you want to hear about them. When I sat down with my manager I began to ask her questions like, “How did you know you wanted to be in this position” and “How did you work your way up to management?” We had a wonderful 30-minute conversation and she even told me that no one has really expressed their goals or interest so elaborately like this.

From explaining to her that I was serious in getting fulltime and continuing my career with Publix, this led to an interview with my District Manager to be promoted within. For 2 months now I have been shown many tasks that management do daily and what I need to know to be ready to take a management test this time next year. My managers have taken me under their wings and are helping to mold me to become a great manager one day.

Putting yourself out there like this is scary, but we’re adults. If we don’t take control of our future now, we may not have the one we’ve always envisioned. Let people you know who you are and what you want in life now because a little conversation can turn into a big promotion in the future. Good luck!

 

Heather Kite

UCF College of Business student

