Deadpool

Deadpool. The kick-ass, anti-hero more awesome than words can describe! The marvel character made it off the comics and onto the big-screen for a beautifully horrifying portrayal that is bound to win Ryan Reynolds an Oscar before Leonardo DiCaprio could say “adamantium.” Seriously, Ryan Reynolds versus Leonardo DiCaprio? It’s like saying the Avengers are going to be taken down by Winnie the Pooh and Christopher Robin. On the other hand, I couldn’t have found a better way to spend my Valentine’s Day than watching Deadpool’s hand being cut off and a blind lady being made fun of. As Deadpool would say it, “Now that’s true passion and dedication!”

 

Hello, Professor Butcher! I know you have to read this at some point in time, and I know you’re probably nodding your head in disappointment by now –regretting the phrase “you can write about anything, as long as it is not your experience watching Deadpool last weekend.” There IS a method to my madness. I promise.

 

Without my passion, enthusiasm, and desire to learn more about the Marvel character Deadpool, I would have never attracted the attention of those reading this blog right now. The same circumstance occurs in the professional workforce. Employers look for prospective employees that demonstrate the same characteristics –those that want to go above and beyond what is normal and expected.

 

At one point in time, I was a Biology major looking for the opportunity to intern as a future Physician’s Assistant at one of the most prestigious hospitals located in the Cayman Islands. As you are unaware, I have terrible public speaking skills. So naturally, I was terrified for the first interview. If over prepared, I was risking sounding too rehearsed. Under prepared, I would risk the position overall. I did the only thing I could do, research the hospital, their team, and hope for the best. The day of the interview, I left the hospital internship in hand. An internship that would not only pay me, but allow me to shadow any position in the hospital whenever I wanted, for as long as I wanted.

 

The key factor that drove the interview that day was passion. I walked into the room not so confident, shaking with anxiety, and was asked a single question, “Why do you want to be a Physician’s Assistant?” To my astonishment, my reply was well structured, aligned with the goals of the hospital, and gained the full interest of the interviewer. It was not my mind that controlled my response. But instead, the response was elicited simply out of my passion to help others. Passion is distinguishable. Passion grabs attention, simply because it is hard to find.

 

In these professional blogs, we always stress the importance of looking the part of the job, of gaining the contacts to find the job, but never the hidden ingredient to easily getting that job –passion. Have you ever walked into one of the UCF Career fairs? As soon as you step into the ballroom, you instantly disappear in a crowd of blazers, ties, and squeaky shoes. You have just become another head in the crowd. But what distinguishes you from the rest? What drives you? Do something you’re passionate about. I once read “When you have a passion in life –especially a passion fueled by vision and purpose –you can wake up with that same joy and enthusiasm. When you’re engaged in something that is fulfilling, fun, and meaningful, you are truly in the flow of “peak experience” living.” Why not make that an everyday occurrence? Why not do what you love? Follow your heart, and there will never be a need to question whether you are right for that company. You will simply know, and so will your future employers. Go grab your employer’s attention, just like my Deadpool reference grabbed yours! Be passionate, and never have to work a day in your life. Money is just an object, but happiness is forever.

 

All the best my fellow Knights,

Nicole Giuffre

