There are lots of ways students can differentiate themselves.  One way is to take on a double major like Adriana Osorio, a student in GEB 4004.  Here she explains her rationale for taking this route:

According to Margaret Weigel, approximately thirty to forty percent of college students are double-majors. There are many advantages and opportunities available to those who choose to double major and I would like to share my story of why I chose to double major and how I have been able to manage to double-major during my undergraduate career here at UCF.

To begin, I want to share a little bit about myself. I graduated from West Orange High School, which is located in Winter Garden, FL in 2014. I was born and raised here in Orlando, Florida, although my family is originally from Colombia. Ever since I was young I always had a passion for business that fascinated me, so I knew that I wanted to choose a career that was business related. That’s how I stumbled into choosing Accounting as my major.

When I started college at UCF in the fall of 2014, I had declared myself as an Accounting major, as I mentioned earlier. I had never really considered double majoring because I always thought that it would be such a hassle and a waste of time. But my mindset quickly changed as I was exposed to the great opportunities that double majoring could offer. It all started when I met some individuals who were double majoring in Accounting and Finance. At first I was intrigued and then as I met more and more people who were double-majors in the College of Business, I started to do my own research. I figured, there has to be a reason why so many people in the College of Business are double majors.

It turns out that there are many reasons and benefits to double majoring. First, double majoring can make you very knowledgeable and well rounded. Not only do you get to get the wealth of knowledge that one degree offers, but also you get two degrees worth of knowledge. In addition, double majoring also allows you to stay disciplined and focused because you have two degrees that you’re working towards completing. In addition, double majoring can allow you to create a large network because you get to make contacts in two difference fields. Double majoring can also be very attractive for employers because it gives you a competitive edge in the workforce. By double majoring, you are showing that you have double the knowledge compared to the average candidate. Also, it shows that you are hardworking and disciplined. It is a popular misconception that double majoring takes a long time and takes a lot of money, but that is relative. If you double major in Music and Accounting then that would be very time-consuming and costly because they are two completely different fields. It is best to double major within the same College because the degrees will complement each other and many classes overlap, so you only have to take a few extra classes. For example, double majoring in Accounting and Finance is a great combination they really complement each other. Finally, double majoring can help you academically because a lot of the classes overlap and that reinforces your knowledge and can help you in the classroom.

All of these reasons are what led me to double majoring. Fast-forward to Summer 2016 and I am now a senior double majoring in Accounting and Finance. I am really glad that I chose to double major and I am really looking forward to graduating in Spring 2017 with my double majoring in Accounting & Finance!

 

-Adriana Osorio, Senior, Accounting & Finance

