I have to say that out of all the blogs submitted, this was my favorite.  Jessica perfectly captured the emotion of trying to figure out what to do for the rest of your life.  It isn’t an easy question to answer, so why would it be an easy class?  Good luck, Jessica.  I think you’re gonna do great!

Not once, not twice, not three times…If you are like me, you are now in your final course of the career professionalism series, GEB 4004. If you are also like me, you’ve been frustrated, confused, irritated (the list could go on and on). You’ve asked yourself time and time again…WHY!? Why am I required to take not only one of these classes but all four of what is seemingly the same class each semester. Each year I’ve fought this class and I’ve fought myself. Now, on the verge of graduation I can see, although these classes appear monotonous it’s all in the hope that each year something from these classes will stick. Perhaps the biggest lesson I’ve learned from my career professionalism experience is to plan. I can no longer be naïve and think the perfect job will somehow fall right into my lap. I wasn’t born knowing that I wanted to be a doctor or a lawyer. Finding a career to fit my interests requires a well-crafted plan, it requires research and requires trial and error. Thanks to the career professionalism courses I now have the tools to select a career that I know best fits my interests and passions instead of hoping I choose the right one based on luck.

 

Jessica Lucarelli

